Laurie Marie Thinks

Thank you! | October 12, 2009

Here it is: the obligatory “what I am thankful for” list-post. In no particular order:

1. My family:

I am lucky enough to have both my grandparents on both sides of my family living. I am so thankful for them because I know so many people who have only one or no grandparent, whereas I get four.

My siblings (this include you too Meredith!) and I don’t get along sometimes, but we still love each other and would do anything for each other. I can’t believe how close we are sometimes. I feel like I could ask them or tell them anything. Last weekend we were all together and it was fantastic. We may be pretty divided, but that makes getting together so much better.

My parents are pretty freakin’ awesome. I know that there are few things that they wouldn’t do for me and vice-versa. I miss them lots (especially this weekend!) but can’t wait to see them at Christmas. They o so much for me and my siblings and I can’t imagine who I would be or where I would be without them.

I am so glad for my many aunts, uncles, cousins…. the list goes on. I was especially thankful for extended family today when I spent the evening with my grandma’s sister’s family. I hadn’t seen some of my family since I was really little at G&G Callsen’s 50th Anniversary, but they still invited me to Thanksgiving when they saw that I didn’t go home.

2. My friends. I am thankful for all the friends I’ve made over the years, but here are some special little shout-outs to certain people.

Nicole, Emily and Morgan: you guys are amazing. I don’t know what I would do without you guys- probably go crazy from stress and secrets to tell :). I’d also be really sober a lot more of the time and wouldn’t go to class hungover. Seriously, you guys are the best and I love you to death.

J-schoolers: Oh man, I couldn’t keep myself entertained during certain lectures without your Facebook statues and evil glares.

3. School

It seems like a weird thing to be thankful for, but I am thankful for school. I am glad that I still like journalism and that I went to MacEwan. I could be doing something really boring at the U of S just to be closer to my family, or I could be doing something I hate just because there’s money in it. I’ve pretty much have resigned myself to the fact that I will be underpaid and overworked. I’m cool with that as long as I get to see some pretty cool stuff and meet new and interesting people. Changing the world will just be a bonus.

4. Me

OK, you probably think that being thankful for myself is a bit conceited. And it is. But I am so glad to be alive and well, and that I am a good person who (usually) makes good decisions.


Posted in school, social life

1 Comment »

  1. Well said my dear! So glad that you had a nice Thanksgiving!! I am thankful for you too:)

    Comment by Mom — October 12, 2009 @ 8:21 pm


Leave a comment

    Bio

    Laurie Callsen was one of six graduates from Westcliffe Composite School’s class of 2008 in Marengo, Saskatchewan. Now a second-year Journalism student at MacEwan, she is currently the News Editor for Intercamp. In her downtime she is an alternative-folk musician who plays guitar and mandolin.