Laurie Marie Thinks

The Resolution Rundown… | January 12, 2009

Ok, so because I am a big ole lameo I have a few resolutions made up for 2009. Let’s see how long they last, shall we?

1. Exercise at least 3 times a week

2. Eat healthy, avoid buying stupid snacks at school, and drink 8 glasses of water a day

3. Maintain my GPA (currently 3.77)

4. Join something at MacEwan other than Intercamp (I’m auditioning for The Vagina Monologues that will run at MacEwan in February).

5. Journal more to get my thoughts sorted out, especially around exam time.

6. Wear jeans that make me look hot (Pretty much mission accomplished).

7. Do another semester of French Immersion this summer

8. Shorten my morning routine (yeah right, hahaha)

9. Go explore the city

10. Make more friends (This is going pretty well if I do say so myself)

I should probably add “spend less time on Facebook”, but that’s just silly.

In other news, Courtney has officially moved in with me! YAY! It’s nice living with one of my best friends, and I couldn’t ask for a better roomie.

My first week of classes went pretty awesome. I love love LOVE Photojournalism – Oh how I wish I had my own SLR. A lot of the stress (for me) that will come out of the class will be trying to book a camera. I just can’t procrastinate. In Reporting, we’re getting to go out and cover real news, like goings on at the courthouse, etc. It’s going to be so great but so scary at the same time.

The internal mic in my recorder is shot, so I am going to return it to Radio Shack and upgrade to a more expensive one. We will be having a class on equipment soon in Reporting, so my shopping trip will wait until then, so I know what to buy. I hate that my shit keeps breaking (and it’s not me! I swear). My camera is currently en route or in Ontario, being assessed for repair. I can’t wait to have it back! I miss it so much.

My audition for TVM is tomorrow, and I will surely blog about that. Now that Courtney is out I am going to practice my lines outloud and record them to see how stupid I sound. Eep. Nerves are going to start any time soon, I know it.

On Tuesday I am interview a few people for the MacEwan PMS – acupuncture research that is currently going on. I’m very interested in it and can’t wait to find more out, not to mention play with the SLR.


2 Comments »

  1. Love the goal setting Laur! I just love it when you sound so happy! Hugs and kisses, mom

    Comment by Mom — January 12, 2009 @ 6:40 pm

  2. Thanks mom! I am happy 😀
    xoxoxoxo
    Laur

    Comment by Laurie Callsen — January 13, 2009 @ 2:34 am


Leave a comment

    Bio

    Laurie Callsen was one of six graduates from Westcliffe Composite School’s class of 2008 in Marengo, Saskatchewan. Now a second-year Journalism student at MacEwan, she is currently the News Editor for Intercamp. In her downtime she is an alternative-folk musician who plays guitar and mandolin.