Laurie Marie Thinks

Exciting Stuff Man! | September 28, 2008

I know, another update so quick? It’s because some exciting stuff happened.

I am one of the few recievers of the Saskatchewan General Proficiency Award. That means that I had one of the highest averages in Saskatchewan my Grade 12 year. I don’t know how many they give out, and it’s according to school divisions (I think), but it’s still pretty sweet!

On Thursday I at down with Aimee (Intercamp Features ed.) to go over the edits for my feature about students and money. She had nothing but good things to say- I used colourful quotes, I had awesome organization, and best of all, only 3 mistakes in the whole 1800 words, 8 page story. I also get to work on the layout of the piece with Chris, the graphics dude, on Tuesday. I am so excited to see my baby get published in the October 3rd issue!  My first Intercamp piece was published in the most recent issue, and you can read it here.

I did my interview with Andy Patil yesterday and it went AWESOME! He was very cool and laid-back, and really nice. We talked about his musical influence, our love for GarageBand, and the origin of the name El Torpedo. Fun Fact: his favourite song from their self-titled album is Lost Souls, while his favourite Terminal Romance song is Northern Belle. I can wait to do the write-up, and I’m so pumped for the concert (which I’m going to, because it turns out Maureen is going, and I didn’t want to go on my own).

This morning I went on a cleaning spree in my room becuase it was really dusty. I got some wipes for my computer yesterday, so now all the dirty fingerprints are gone and it’s back to being white. YAY!

Ugh I should work on my essays and Intercamp stuff.  And eat.


1 Comment »

  1. Wow Laurie, how exciting! Congrats on everything, good for you!

    Comment by Leslie — September 28, 2008 @ 10:55 pm


Leave a comment

    Bio

    Laurie Callsen was one of six graduates from Westcliffe Composite School’s class of 2008 in Marengo, Saskatchewan. Now a second-year Journalism student at MacEwan, she is currently the News Editor for Intercamp. In her downtime she is an alternative-folk musician who plays guitar and mandolin.